theendlessknot

putting thoughts into words regarding the entangled state of mind which is my existence

En-Tranced by Snowboarding

Leave a comment

A piece I wrote after doing two of my favorite things tonight. The way that they go together is always sure to make for an awesome evening!

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

I await the run that is to come. I shudder with excitement, already imagining myself plow through the powder on my way down, from peak to basin, before carving between a narrow line of trees as I make my way back up into the untouched areas of the quiet mountain. I look down to see this and other opportunities open in front of me as I ascend the steep ski lift, all the while pumping out some trance from my iPod.

The feeling I get when I’m about to take a run on my snowboard is heavenly, just like the soaring synthesizer melodies that sing out to me from my favorite playlist of songs. The slow, uplifting musical progression of trance is perfect for a day out on the mountain, because in those moments between runs, I need the adrenaline boost that I get when the main melody drops after long anticipation. And at the same time, seeing that the conditions are so powdery and soft today enraptures me with a feeling of sweet anxiety to go out and discover new terrain.

All these thoughts flash through my mind like a blinding strobe light. A sort of suspended animation takes control as I’m carried up higher and higher to the summit. Each one of my thoughts coincides with a different run that I can take, a single experience that must be chosen out of an overwhelmingly large number of paths that all seem to cascade downwards, before slowing to a trickle and draining back toward the base gondola.

As I near the top, my heart rate quickens to the point where the steady pulse of the bass drum no longer matches my own. I can now see over the peak and I am amazed at the grandeur of the lakes gleaming back at me as I look off into the distance. I am amazed that one of the highest peaks of the Rockies suddenly makes contact beneath my feet as I get off the lift. And I am amazed that this all happens in time with my trance, because at that moment the tension of the build eases into a sudden burst of sonic beauty. I am hit with an explosion of energy as I finally roll over the nearly vertical drop-off ahead of me that leads into the abyss below.

Author: theendlessknot3d

I'm Mark. I recently graduated college with a Bachelor's Degree in philosophy, and I started this blog to continue engaging myself and my mind through my passion for written argumentation. I have also used this as an opportunity to explore my other creative outlets, such as writing French poems or photography. In this blog you will find a wide range of written material, including philosophy articles, musings, paradoxes, poems, photos and more. You'll find that I usually write about serious themes, such as everyday life struggles, in a way in which I always try to keep my posts upbeat and interesting. With anything that I write, I encourage you to make your own criticisms, insights, recommendations or anything else which you feel would help me improve my content.

Leave a Reply

